Over the years, Toyo Tires has experienced success in motorsports around the world. The racing milestones they share here are just a small glimpse into their legacy of winning on the track and off the road. They represent many firsts for Toyo Tires in the United States.

Toyo Tyres Racing History

1980's: Began competing in US road racing with the Toyo C1R, in the IMSA Champion Spark Plug Challenge.

1984-1991: Provided 4DR and C1R R-compound street legal tires for SCCA® Club Racing. The asymmetrical 4DR was also used extensively in autocross competition during the same time.

1985: Participated in the 1985 SCCA Playboy® Endurance Series with ownership of a Ford Thunderbird driven by Andy Pilgrim and Mitch Wright.

1986 through 1988: Involved with the SCCA Escort Endurance Series with sponsorship of the Wolin Racing Mitsubishis, and in the SCCA Race Truck Championship.

1988-1989: Spec tire for the IMSA International Sedan Series.

1989-1993: Both sponsored and supplied racing slicks to the Nissan 240SX factory team of Leitzinger Racing in the IMSA GTU class. During that period, the team won three driver and three manufacturer championships.

Toyo Tyres Racing History

January 2001: Named Official Tire of the SPEED World Challenge®. The Proxes RA1 was the spec tire in 2001. Toyo Tires holds this prestigious title still, to this day, with the Proxes R888 as the spec tire.

November 2004: Proxes Drag Slicks score first NHRA® national event win when Thomas Bayer won the Super Comp class at the November Auto Club Finals in Pomona, CA. The winning on the Proxes Drag Slicks has continued at national competitions across the country.

January 2005: Off-the-shelf Open Country M/T tires are used in desert racing for the first time. They capture 3rd place, on a trophy truck, at the SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge. Since then, the tires have been used by champions in nearly all forms of off-road racing including desert, short course and rock racing.

Fall 2005: NHRA Nationals renamed the NHRA Toyo Tires Nationals. It marked the company's first title sponsor of such a prestigious event; it remains to this day. The event is held at historic Maple Grove Raceway near Reading, Pennsylvania.

November 2006: Robby Gordon and Andy McMillin win the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 on Open Country M/T-R tires. It was the first Baja 1000 Championship for Toyo Tires.

January 2007: Robby Gordon and Team Dakar USA win Stage 6 of the 2007 Dakar® on Open Country M/T-R tires, then finish the event 8th Overall and 1st in class, the highest ever for an all-American team.

October 2007: Tanner Foust wins the 2007 Formula Drift Championship on the, then-new, Toyo Proxes R1R extreme performance tires. In 2008, he won the championship again on Proxes R1R tires.

September 2008: Tim Smith and the extreme performance Proxes R1Rs capture the SCCA ProSolo Street Touring S Champion

November 2008: Chuck Dempsey and John Herder win Class 1 of the 2008 Tecate-SCORE Baja 1000 on off-the-shelf Open Country M/T tires. These are the same tires you buy for your personal truck!

December 2008: Toyo Proxes TQ introduced during the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Orlando, Florida. It is the first street legal drag radial from Toyo Tires, in the United States.

Toyo Tyres Racing History

January 2009: Robby Gordon and Team Dakar USA place third overall in the 2009 Dakar, using Open Country M/T-R tires. Gordon's Hummer H3 racer was the only two-wheel-drive vehicle to place in the top ten in this international event.

July 2009: Rhys Millen set a new world record in the Time Attack 2WD division during the 87th running of the historic Pikes Peak International Hill Climb. His 550-horsepower Hyundai Genesis Coupe was equipped with Toyo Proxes R1R tires.

Toyo Tyres Racing History

October 2009: Rick Huseman and Toyo Tires capture the first-ever Pro 4x4 Truck Championship in The Off-Road Championship (TORC) series. The new off-road, short-course series experienced a successful inaugural year.

November 2009: Following an impressive year in desert racing, Robby Gordon is named 2009 SCORE Overall Point Champion and Trophy-Truck Champion. Both honors are a first for Toyo Tires.